Small Acknowledgments

We are using a few open-source projects at work. I discovered a few problems with one of them, and I emailed the author (surprisingly, some successful open-source projects have just one author). Following a couple of days of correspondence, he wrote to me:

… You help me fix three bugs in a row ! This plugin is available since January 2002, and for the last two years there were few bug reports (despite 50000 downloads per months), so fixing three bugs before releasing version 3.2 is really nice. …

This really made my day. With minimal effort, I was able to contribute to an open-source project and feel appreciated for it. Talk about good karma for the techie geek in me :)

This entry was posted in off topic and tagged , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

