God Save The Queen

A few weeks ago, I decided to register a Canadian domain name. Unlike the .com domains, .ca domains are reserved for Canadian citizens, residents, and various types of Canadian entities – public schools, municipalities, companies that hold Canadian trademarks, and so on.

So I browsed to the website of cadns, a Canadian dns registrar, and I started the registration process. When prompted to select my registrant type, something odd caught my eye. Check out the last entry in this list :)

Of course, I registered as a Canadian citizen. However, before writing this post, I returned to the site, and tried to register as Her Majesty the Queen, to see what will happen. Nothing special happened. The registration process continued as usual – I was prompted for my name, address and so on. I stopped the process when I was asked for my credit card information.

This entry was posted in off topic and tagged , . Bookmark the permalink.

3 Responses to God Save The Queen

  1. Yigal says:

    Hi Yoni,

    This is gold! My guess is that it’s a practical joke by a programmer…

    Yigal

  2. Yoni says:

    Hey Yigal,

    It’s funny indeed, but no joke. Other Canadian registrars also display the exact same list. The reason for this being that the list is dictated by Cira (http://www.cira.ca/en/home.html), the Canadian equivalent of Internic.
    Back in the days when the internet was young, the Canadian government gave Cira mandate to control the .ca tld. A colleague of mine, here at targetize, speculated that Cira simply copied a list from somewhere else – for example, a list of who can register a trademark in Canada.

  3. Jorge says:

    This reminds me of those websites that ask how should you be addressed, and among the choices you have Duke, King, Emperor, Pope, Sheik, etc. So tempting.

Leave a Reply

